So not ready, until you may just be.

Woman on rock at beach dipping toes in water, having fun outdoor lifestyle

So not ready, until you find yourself without choice…

Someone told me a story not too long ago about an experiment where you draw a circle and place a spider in the center. It will stay within the parameters for the longest time, until one day it put one leg just over the line, ‘testing the water’ so to speak. When nothing bad happens, off the spider goes to explore what’s out there on the other side of the line. 

I had thought about this often, how I have spent a lifetime drawing imaginary circles and staying within the lines, within my comfort zone. The only time I venture out is when forced to organically, as if the universe  has another plan for me. We are all capable of so much more than we sometimes allow ourselves to believe. I have witnessed many persons come out on the other side of pretty traumatic episodes, stronger, wiser and much more confident. I am such a stong believer in whatever tools you need will be placed in front of you in life, you simply have to see them, recognize them, pick them up and use them. Saying that, I believe this to be the case when your intentions are good ones. If you can be of service to others, something will draw you in that direction. 

Yesterday I got a hug from a new friend. She is what I like to refer to as a sparkplug. The whole room lights up when she walks into it. Her eyes smile.  I assume she has been like that all of her life. She reminds me of someone else who had that kind of presense. While others are out there worrying about what it’s going to be like to turn 60, here we are realizing it is a fabulous age to be, minus a few creaks maybe, but with the right mindset, we are like that spider, finally ready to extend our foot out into the unknown, cause really, what’s the worst that can happen? If we don’t like what’s out there, we can retreat back to what we know, what makes us feel safe. 

My kids would laugh if they heard ‘take risks’ coming from me. That was always more my husbands mindset. I was always the ‘stay safe’ parent. As I age though, I see that really living comes with taking risks, both physically, but even more scary is those emotional risks. If I open up and lay my cards on the table, will this be accepted? Can I learn to take all the joy I have inside and tilt it outwards to shine it on others? I am about to dip my toes into something new, hoping to follow in the brave footsteps of others, hoping to learn from those I already admire. Expanding the circle, step by step…

Published by Anna C

Approaching yet another stage of life & happily evaluating the decades past.

2 thoughts on “So not ready, until you may just be.

  1. So true and it just keeps getting better as you age. Even the 70’s are new and adventurous. I’m now looking at the 80’s soon and expecting to take on new adventures.
    Sent from my iPad

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started