Look for good, bask in the feelings it brings, try to duplicate where and when possible…

As you know, joy is like a drug. It fills your heart with something special. To describe it to others, one can say, I feel almost short of breath for a few minutes, as joy floods into my heart, making it expand in my chest cavity, leaving less room for air in my lungs. Now what if I were to tell you that that came from watching a heartfelt video of three grown men , day laborers, who were treated to a day at disney (most probably for the first time in their lives), including all rides, and given $250 at the end, their usual pay for working in various manual labour jobs they get by standing on the side of the road, waiting and hoping and praying that someone will have work for them today. The video itself was one thing, but what actually filled my heart was the hundreds of positive comments posted to the site. That was such a refreshing change. Then I realized the reason for that. It underscores the typical mindset of the people who follow this person’s SM posts. They always point positive. They always shine light on goodness. That is the main reason I follow said person’s post. She spreads light and it radiates! How the world need more of this.

Yesterday I started the next step in my new career. I stepped out in front of a room of people and facilitated a conversation. I thought alot of my parents, how not shy either of them was, quite the contrary, a dynamic duo. It brought back memories of being that ten year old child, reciting a poem out loud with the teacher telling me to speak louder. Shy and quiet little me never forgot that day. I’m not shy anymore, but still not as loud as I will need to be. I think the only time I am loud is when I am mad, so this will be a challenge, but there’s always a solution 📣

Watching these fifty yr old men experiencing Disney with childlike smiles, made me look at my yesterday and realize that childhood joy is always in us, sometimes it is buried a little deeper, but it still burns in each of us. My joy came from one person saying that they were taking a new thought or new concept that they learned from something another person said. Before the class, I kept telling my self facilitate means to help others help themselves. If that worked on one person, then that was an amazing first day of work.

Do what you love & love what you do. It just makes life so much sweeter.

Published by Anna C

Approaching yet another stage of life & happily evaluating the decades past.

One thought on “Look for good, bask in the feelings it brings, try to duplicate where and when possible…

  1. WTG Anna, stepping off from a place of comfort into what could be a not so comfortable place is not easy to do, but you DID IT. Well done. I have no doubt that your future opportunities will be filled with inspiration for those that are lucky enough to witness it. Cheers to you. I look forward to being among the luck ones.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started